Blog - A la une

Multiscale design of gas/ion adsorbents with porous coordination polymers

Séminaire Chimie ED459

Prof. Tohru Kawamoto (Nanoparticle Functional Design Group, Nanomaterials Research Institute, AIST, Tsukuba, Japan)

Le Jeudi 22 mars 2018 à 14h

ENSCM, Amphithéâtre Godechot (campus Balard, 240 av. Émile-Jeanbrau)

Date de début : 2018-03-22 14:00:00

Date de fin : 2018-03-22 15:30:00

Lieu : ENSCM amphi Godechot (campus Balard, 240 av E. Jeanbrau)

Intervenant : Prof. Tohru Kawamoto

Nanoparticle Functional Design Group, Nanomaterials Research Institute, AIST, Tsukuba, Japan

The performance of adsorbent for small molecule and ions can be improved by multiscale design of porous structure from atomic to mm scale. With this strategy, we have developed the multiscale composite of porous coordination polymers (PCP) for gas/ion adsorbent. The intrinsic performance, such as adsorption capacity, would mainly be determined by the crystal structure. For example, our NH3 adsorbent, by metal substitution and vacancy introduction, we have developed the new adsorbent with the highest value among the recyclable adsorbents.[1] In nanometer scale, control of nanoparticle size is effective for raising adsorption speed. We have demonstrated the particle size control of a PCP, resulting in 7.7 times faster cesium-ion adsorption.[2] Implementation of porous network in μm-scale is also important for the adsorption. The freeze died-microcapsule adsorbent showed 15 times faster adsorption than conventional dried one due to its mm-scale porous structure.[3] In this talk, total strategy for raising adsorption performance is discussed with the realistic applications, such as radioactive cesium decontamination in Fukushima area, NH3 decontamination for deodorization, and preconcentrating system for trace analysis.[4]


1. A. Takahashi, H. Tanaka, D. Parajuli, T. Nakamura, K. Minami, Y. Sugiyama, Y. Hakuta, S. Ohkoshi, T. Kawamoto, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2016, 138(20), 6376.

2. A. Takahashi, N. Minami, H. Tanaka, K. Sue, K. Minami, D. Parajuli, K.-M. Lee, S. Ohkoshi, M. Kurihara, T. Kawamoto, Green Chem. 2015, 17(8), 4228.

3. K.-M. Lee, T. Kawamoto, K. Minami, A. Takahashi, D. Parajuli, G. Kido, K. Yoshino, H. Tanaka, RSC Adv. 2016, 6(20), 16234.

4. T. Yasutaka, S. Miyazu, Y. Kondo, H. Tsuji, K. Arita, S. Hayashi, A. Takahashi, T. Kawamoto, M.J. Aoyama, Nucl. Sci. Technol. 2016, 1.

Contact local ICGM : Dr. Yannick Guari, D.R. CNRS (équipe IMNO)